Skip to main content

Aging LibGuide: Getting Started

Reference Books

Reference Books—such as encyclopedias and directories—are useful for topic overviews, historical background, statistics, images, maps, and more. Here are some suggested Reference Book titles in Anthropology/ Archaeology-related subject areas. Reference books can be found in the general collection area on the lower level.

Title

Location

Encyclopedia of Aging (Macmillan) REF 305.26 E531
Encyclopedia of Aging (Springer) REF 305.26 E53
Encyclopedia of Elder Care REF 362.19897 E53
Johns Hopkins Medical Guide to Health after 50 REF 613.0434 J64

Online Reference Books

Two  of the library’s databases allow you to do keyword searches that pull content from a large selection of high quality reference works online, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and directories. These works help you find topic overviews, statistics, images, maps, and more. Because they have full text online, you can access these materials any time using any computer.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Over 70 cross-searchable reference works. This collection includes a number of works with articles relating to the field of Aging, including 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook, Encyclopedia of Human Development, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, and more.
Oxford Reference Online Premium Over 190 cross-searchable reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions, dictionaries, and encyclopedias. Several titles include information relating to aging, such as The Oxford Companion to Conciousness, The Oxford Companion to the Body, The Oxford Companion to Medicine, and An A-Z of Medicinal Drugs.

Search

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.

Author of This Guide

Tedra Richter's picture
Tedra Richter
Contact:
Tedra Richter
trichter@uindy.edu
Reference Librarian
Krannert Memorial Library
(317) 788-6123