Skip to main content

Chemistry LibGuide: Getting Started

Reference Books

Reference Books—such as encyclopedias and directories - are useful for topic overviews, historical background, statistics, images, maps, and more. Here are some suggested Reference Book titles in Chemistry-related subject areas. 

Title

Location

A Dictionary of Named Effects and Laws in Chemistry, Physics, and Mathematics REF 503 B19d
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics REF 540.202 C73
The Aldrich library of infrared spectra  REF 547.308583 P68a
The Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals  REF 615.1 M47

Online Reference Books

Three of the library’s databases allow you to do keyword searches across a large selection of high quality reference works online, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and directories. These works help you find topic overviews, statistics, images, maps, and more. Because they have full text online, you can access these materials any time using any computer.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Over 70 reference works
Oxford Reference Online Premium Over 190 reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions, dictionaries, and encyclopedias

Search

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.