Skip to main content

Literature LibGuide: Books & Media

What are books good for?

Besides being "super-great-things-to escape-inside-by-reading-them", books can help you with research. Some books contain criticisms and essays by multiple authors, much like journals contain articles. And once you've found a book that is relevant, check out the bibliography (usually in the back of the book or at the end of chapters) for citations the author used to write the book. These can lead you to more relevant sources, in books, and in journals. Browsing a general topic book can also help you narrow your topic to something more specific, or give you ideas for completely different topics or papers.

Popular Reading Collection - NEW! -

The library now features a Popular Reading Collection, located on the first floor in front of the Circulation desk and the elevator. While not essential to research, these titles do provide quality entertainment when you need a break from writing "that paper." There are three different categories, defined by colored tape on the spine:

  • Yellow - Fiction
  • Pink - Non-Fiction (biographies, factual interests)
  • Green - Graphic Novels (comic books)

You can check them out, then "check them out" at the Circulation Desk.

Browsing for Books on Literature in KML

Books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal System. All of our books can be found in the Basement of the library, accessed either by the elevator or the main front stairwell.

Here are some suggested Dewey Decimal areas for browsing the library’s shelves for books for Literature :

  • 800 Literature, rhetoric & criticism
    • 800 Literature & rhetoric
    • 801 Philosophy & theory
    • 802 Miscellany
    • 803 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
    • 804 Not assigned or no longer used
    • 805 Serial publications
    • 806 Organizations
    • 807 Education, research, related topics
    • 808 Rhetoric & collections of literature
    • 809 Literary history & criticism
  • 810 American literature in English
    • 811 Poetry
    • 812 Drama
    • 813 Fiction
    • 814 Essays
    • 815 Speeches
    • 816 Letters
    • 817 Satire & humor
    • 818 Miscellaneous writings
    • 819 Puzzle activities
  • 820 English & Old English literatures
    • 821 English Poetry
    • 822 English drama
    • 823 English fiction
    • 824 English essays
    • 825 English speeches
    • 826 English letters
    • 827 English satire & humor
    • 828 English miscellaneous writings
    • 829 Old English (Anglo-Saxon)
  • 830 German & related literatures
  • 840 Literatures of Romance languages
  • 850 Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic
  • 860 Spanish & Portuguese literatures
  • 870 Italic literatures; Latin literature
  • 880 Hellenic literatures; Classical Greek
  • 890 Literatures of other languages

 

Ebooks

The following are collections of full text electronic books available to you through your library. For instructions or assistance viewing or downloading, click on the "help" box in each collection:

Streaming Videos

The following databases contain streaming videos. Both are chock full of educational, as well as entertaining, films and clips.

Search

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.