Skip to main content

Health Sciences LibGuide: Getting Started

Reference Books

Reference books — such as encyclopedias, atlases, and directories — are useful for topic overviews, historical background, statistics, images, maps, and more. Reference books can be found in the general collection area on the lower level.  Here are some suggested Reference Book titles:

Title

Location

Magill's Medical Guide REF 610.3 M34
American Heritage Stedman’s Medical Dictionary REF 610.3 A44
Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary REF 610.3 D67
Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary REF 610.3 T33
Gray’s Anatomy REF 611 G73
Merck Index REF 615.1 M47
PDR: Physician’s Desk Reference REF 615.105 P57
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine REF 616 G35
Conn’s Current Therapy REF 616.05 C97
Illustrated Dictionary and Resource Directory of Environmental and Occupational Health REF 616.98 K67i
Atlas of Pathophysiology REF 616.070222 A85
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine REF 617.1027 O25e
Dictionary of Sports Injuries and Disorders REF 617.1027 P68d

Online Reference Books

Three of the library’s databases allow you to do keyword searches across a large selection of high quality reference works online, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and directories. These works help you find topic overviews, statistics, images, maps, and more. Because they have full text online, you can access these materials any time using any computer.

Once you access the database, search on a keyword or phrase that corresponds to your topic. For example, if you are studying radio in World War II, you could enter radio World War II as your search.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Over 70 reference works
Oxford Reference Online Premium Over 190 reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions, dictionaries, and encyclopedias
Magill's Medical Guide Online

Search

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.

Subject Guide

Tedra Richter's picture
Tedra Richter
Contact:
Tedra Richter
trichter@uindy.edu
Reference Librarian
Krannert Memorial Library
(317) 788-6123