Skip to main content

Psychology LibGuide: Reference Books

Online Reference Books

Two of the library’s databases allow you to do keyword searches across a large selection of high quality reference works online, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and directories. These works help you find topic overviews, statistics, images, maps, and more. Because they have full text online, you can access these materials any time using any computer.

Once you access the database, search on a keyword or phrase that corresponds to your topic. For example, if you are studying radio in World War II, you could enter radio World War II as your search.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Over 70 reference works

Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 190 reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions, dictionaries, and encyclopedias

Additional Reference Books

Reference books — such as encyclopedias, atlases, and directories — are useful for topic overviews, historical background, statistics, images, maps, and more. Reference books can be found in the general collection area on the lower level.  Here are some suggested Reference Book titles:

Title

Location

Encyclopedia of Psychology

REF 150 E53

Psychology(Magill’s)

REF 150 M34

Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology and Counseling

REF 150.3 B35

Mental Measurements Yearbook

REF 153.93 M46

Tests in Print

REF 153.93 T47

Comprehensive Clinical Psychology

REF 616.89 C66

Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Psychoanalysis

REF 616.89 E53

DSM-V-TR

REF 616.84075 D53

Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy

REF 616.8914 E53

Search

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.

About This Guide

This guide was created by Tedra Richter.

Contact Tedra at trichter@uindy.edu or call  
(317) 788-6123 if you have questions or comments.