Skip to main content

Occupational Therapy: Health Science Focused Resources

Specific Library Resource Tutorials

 

Health Science & OT Focused Databases

These are suggested databases for finding articles on topics in the Health Sciences. For help with searching, or using the databases, refer to the online tutorial Finding Articles.

 

 

 

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study   
CINAHL Plus With Full Text - Nursing Nursing, P.T., O.T., and allied health  
Cochrane Library - Evidence Based Medicine Nursing case studies database   
Health and Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health+ Comprehensive resource that offers 24/7 access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, multimedia and much more.  
Health Business FullTEXT Healthcare administration   
Health Reference Center-Academic+ Integerates the full text and images of respected nursing, allied health and medical journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, and much more.  
Health Source: Consumer Edition General health care magazines   
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Professional health care magazines   
ICE Video Library Demonstrations of medical conditions and therapeutic interventions in occupational and physical therapy. Database access limited to students and faculty in UIndy's College of Health Sciences. Contact School of OT for access "key" and log-in directions.  
Lexis-Nexis Academic Medical reference   
MEDLINE - EBSCOHost Medical research   
MedlinePlus Medical information for consumers/patients   
Nursing & Allied Health Collection + Current and authoritative content from nearly 400 academic, professional, and news journals  
Nursing Resource Center+ Offers key information in various media types including encyclopedia articles on various related topics, journal citations, over 200 animations, medical illustration, disease overviews, drug monographs, sample care plans, and much more.  
OT Search Occupational therapy    

 

You may also wish to consider the databases relating to Psychology: PsyINFO, PsycEXTRA, PsychBOOKS, and PEP Archive. A full listing of the library’s databases is available at http://kml.uindy.edu/databases

Search Terms

Aside from the MeSH and CINAHL subject headings, you also may encounter what is known as Boolean Operators.  While not the friendliest name, boolean operators are used to help define the relationships between the words or groups of words you are searching for within a database.  Parallel construction in them works like the following: narrows and retrieves, broadens and retrieves, narrows and retrieves.  The good news is that there are only three of them!

They are:

And  Narrows search and retrieve records containing all of the words it separates,
Or  Broadens search and retrieve records containing any of the words it separates,
Not  Narrow search and retrieve records that do not contain the term following it.

 

For more information, we recommend looking towards the EBSCOHost Help on Boolean Terms.

Search

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.

Subject Guide

Tedra Richter's picture
Tedra Richter
Contact:
Tedra Richter
trichter@uindy.edu
Reference Librarian
Krannert Memorial Library
(317) 788-6123