Skip to main content

Physics and Earth-Space Sciences LibGuide: Getting Started

Reference Books

Reference books — such as encyclopedias, atlases, and directories — are useful for topic overviews, historical background, statistics, images, maps, and more. Here are some suggested Reference Book titles in Physics and Earth Space Science-related subject areas. 

Title

Location

A Dictionary of Named Effects and Laws in Chemistry, Physics and Mathematics

REF 503.B19d

Cambridge Astronomy Dictionary

REF 520 C36

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics

REF 520 E53

A Concise Dictionary of Astronomy

REF 520.3 M58c

Dictionary of Astronomical Names

REF 520.3 R66d

Encyclopedia of the Solar System

REF 523.2 E53

Encyclopedia of Physics

REF 530 E53

A Dictionary of Physics

REF 530 D53

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics

REF 530 M33

Encyclopedia of the Atomic Age

REF 539.709 E53

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

REF 540.202 C73

Oxford Companion to the Earth

REF 550 O94

Encyclopedia of Earth System Science

REF 550.3 E53

Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather

REF 551.5 E53

The Extraterrestrial Encyclopedia

REF 574.999 A54e

Cambridge Air and Space Dictionary

REF 629.13003 C36

Encyclopedia of Space Exploration

REF 919.904 A54e

Online Reference Books

Three of the library’s databases allow you to do keyword searches across a large selection of high quality reference works online, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and directories. These works help you find topic overviews, statistics, images, maps, and more. Because they have full text online, you can access these materials any time using any computer.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Over 70 reference works
Oxford Reference Online Premium Over 190 reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions, dictionaries, and encyclopedias

Search

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.