Skip to main content

Social Sciences LibGuide: Getting Started

Reference Books

Reference Books - such as encyclopedias and directories -  are useful for topic overviews, historical background, statistics, images, maps, and more. Here are some suggested Reference Book titles in Communications-related subject areas. Reference books can be found in the general collection area on the lower level.

Title

Location

Dictionary of the Social Sciences REF 300 D53
Encyclopedia of Social Sciences REF 300 S63
The Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods REF 300.72 S24
Dictionary of Qualitative Inquiry REF 300.72 S39d
The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology REF 301 A24
Encyclopedia of Sociology REF 301 E531
A Modern Dictionary of Sociology REF 301.03 T38m
The International Encyclopedia of Sociology REF 301.0321 I58 1984
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America REF 305.8 G35
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America: Primary Documents REF 305.8 G351
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures REF 307.76 E53
Social Work Dictionary REF 361 B37s
Encyclopedia of Social Work REF 361.303 E53
Social worker's Desk Reference REF 361.32 S63

Online Reference Books

Two of the library’s databases allow you to do keyword searches across a large selection of high quality reference works online, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and directories. These works help you find topic overviews, statistics, images, maps, and more. Because they have full text online, you can access these materials any time using any computer.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Over 70 cross-searchable reference works.
Oxford Reference Online Premium Over 190 cross-searchable reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.

Search

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.

Author of This Guide

Tedra Richter's picture
Tedra Richter
Contact:
Tedra Richter
trichter@uindy.edu
Reference Librarian
Krannert Memorial Library
(317) 788-6123