Anthropology LibGuide: Getting Started

These databases can help you find topic overviews, statistics, images, maps, and more. Because they have full text online, you can access these materials any time using any computer.

• Gale Virtual Reference Library - Over 70 cross-searchable reference works
• Oxford Reference Online - Cross-searchable reference works from Oxford University Press, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions.

Reference books, such as encyclopedias, atlases, and directories, are useful for topic overviews, historical background, statistics, images, maps, and more. Here are some suggested Reference Book titles in Anthropology/ Archaeology related subject areas. Reference books are shelved with the circulating collection but cannot be taken out of the library.

• Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology: REF 301.0922 B56 2004
• Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology: REF 305.8 E53
• Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology: REF 305.8 E531 2002
• Encyclopedia of Anthropology: REF 306.03 E53 1976
• Women Anthropologists: A Biographical Dictionary: REF 306.0922 W66 1988
• Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology: REF 573.03 S74d 1991
• History of Physical Anthropology: REF 599.9 H57 1997

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.