Music from many genres, including classical, jazz, popular
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. It also includes jazz, world music, film music, nostalgia, and classic and contemporary rock music. It offers streaming access to more than 37,120 CDs with more than 530,800 tracks, as of 2009. On average, 500 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz, and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others. NML also includes synopses of over 700 operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, and a glossary of musical terms. NML provides playing times of individual works or movements, detailed music notes, and opera libretti. The library can be searched by composer, work, and label; by keyword search and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 10 combined search criteria. Student users of this database can create their own playlists.
Academic Video Online (AVON) provides unlimited remote access to more than 63,000* (and growing) videos all cross-searchable from a single platform.
The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
The embeddable video player with keyword-searchable transcripts allows users to browse and refine with intuitive facets and then create and share custom clips and playlists.
Streaming video of films in all academic disciplines
Films On Demand delivers streaming educational video content from Films Media Group, one of the premier publishers of academic films. Features of Films On Demand: Faculty & students have 24/7 unlimited access to streaming video content, on or off campus View entire programs or pre-defined segments of your selection Create personal play lists to organize full-length videos and segments for a classroom presentation or to share with students URL links can be posted to your course management system Intuitive, easy-to-use interface lets you browse your digital video library by course area or search by keyword, subject, producer, or educational standards View content in either Windows Media or Flash format (including high resolution options for full-screen viewing and presentation) Our subscription includes over 7,000 titles in the Master Academic Collection, which covers: Humanities & Social Science Collection Business & Economics Collection Science & Mathematics Collection Health & Medicine Collection See a YouTube video overview of Films On Demand Product brochure Quick Start Guide (Note: The Films On Demand Quick Start Guide includes directions for logging into the database. This step does not apply to UIndy users. However, off-campus users will need to log into their UIndy account before they can access any of the library's databases, including Films On Demand.)
