Social sciences, humanities, education, general science
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines in the humanities, arts, sciences, business, and social sciences.
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles. Some publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defence Studies, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic covers top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; foreign language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research. Most of the titles on LEXIS-NEXIS Academic are available in full text, with a limited number available in abstract form. Some examples of information you can find in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic: Profiles and reports on the world's major public and private companies. Full-text of EDGAR filings from 1991 as well as annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements of more than 4,000 US companies, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission since 1987. Full-text English-language news from the world's major newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Non-English major newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. News wires TV and radio broadcast transcripts Web Blogs
European works that relate to the Americas 1493 - 1750
This resource is based on European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery. The original bibliography was co-developed by John Alden and Dennis Landis, Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846 is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
The Civil War Primary Source Documents are unique manuscripts chronicling all aspects of the American Civil War as it was fought on land and at sea, experienced in hospitals and prison camps, and understood by civilians on the home front. The collection, featuring more than 110,000 pages of manuscripts, focuses on the War years from 1861 to 1865 and represents both Northern and Southern perspectives. It also contains important contextual documents leading up to War and after its conclusion. Selected from the premier collections of the New-York Historical Society, these historical documents represent decades of collection and preservation.
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
