Academic Video Online (AVON) provides unlimited remote access to more than 63,000* (and growing) videos all cross-searchable from a single platform.
The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
The embeddable video player with keyword-searchable transcripts allows users to browse and refine with intuitive facets and then create and share custom clips and playlists.
Streaming video of films in all academic disciplines
Films On Demand delivers streaming educational video content from Films Media Group, one of the premier publishers of academic films. Features of Films On Demand: Faculty & students have 24/7 unlimited access to streaming video content, on or off campus View entire programs or pre-defined segments of your selection Create personal play lists to organize full-length videos and segments for a classroom presentation or to share with students URL links can be posted to your course management system Intuitive, easy-to-use interface lets you browse your digital video library by course area or search by keyword, subject, producer, or educational standards View content in either Windows Media or Flash format (including high resolution options for full-screen viewing and presentation) Our subscription includes over 7,000 titles in the Master Academic Collection, which covers: Humanities & Social Science Collection Business & Economics Collection Science & Mathematics Collection Health & Medicine Collection See a YouTube video overview of Films On Demand Product brochure Quick Start Guide (Note: The Films On Demand Quick Start Guide includes directions for logging into the database. This step does not apply to UIndy users. However, off-campus users will need to log into their UIndy account before they can access any of the library's databases, including Films On Demand.)
This site gives information health care reform, elder rights protection, emergency preparedness for the elderly, aging statistics, home and community-based services.
Caregivers will find helpful resources here on health topics, financial and legal concerns, and health care administration. Search for senior housing and assisted living facilities within a given geographic area.
Includes a checklist of what caretakers should ask healthcare providers, summaries of recent studies published in The Journal of The American Geriatrics Society (JAGS), and funding opportunities for healthcare researchers.
Information, services and support for caregivers and families of those with chronic, often disabling health conditions. Some fact sheets are offered in different languages. Also provided are statistics, public policy data and reports.
Developed by the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University Law School, this section presents an overview and relevant resources relating to health care law.
This site gives information on issues of concern that impact the elderly such as reverse mortgages and how to avoid scams, preventing and addressing elder abuse, records management for surviving spouses and family members, and estate administration.
This is the official US government site for people with Medicare. It contains information on Medicare health plans, drug benefits, links to state information, and long term care options.
This nonprofit advocacy group works with several organizations throughout the country to provide useful information on healthy living and financial tips
This site provides information on medications, supplements, conditions, healthy aging, care-giving, clinical trials and sponsored research. Numerous resources and publications are listed, with some of the material offered in Spanish language version.
A non-profit research, training and social policy organization dedicated to promoting the individual autonomy of older persons and advancing their well-being in society.
