It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library "catalog" is something known as a "discovery tool" called WorldCat Discovery. Use the Search box to the right, or click here for the library's home page to access the same search box. You can use keyword terms to discover articles, books, and media items. You can also directly access literature specific databases, listed and detailed below.
Social sciences, humanities, education, general science
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines in the humanities, arts, sciences, business, and social sciences.
Contains full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Twenty Century Literary Criticism
An extensive compilation of literary commentary, with centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. This database contains full text of Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism.
MagillOnLiterature Plus contains editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, extended character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering the most studied works in literary history.
MagillOnLiterature Plus, produced by Salem Press, combines all the quality content of both MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors in a fully integrated and enhanced single database. This database is composed of approximately 35,000 critical analyses of individual works of literature, 6,500 biographical records, more than 1,000 images, and a glossary of 1,310 literary terms. MagillOnLiterature Plus contains editorially reviewed critical essays, brief plot summaries, extended character profiles, and detailed setting discussions covering works by more than 8,500 long and short fiction writers, poets, dramatists, essayists, and philosophers. The biographical essays reflect extended coverage of the 2,500 most studied authors and include up-to-date lists of each author's principal works and current secondary bibliographies. In addition, 395 comprehensive genre-driven overview essays provide details about important literary genres, time periods, and national literatures. This database includes: Masterplots (12 volumes), Masterplots II (58 volumes), Cyclopedia of World Authors (5 volumes), Cyclopedia of Literary Characters (5 volumes), Magill's Literary Annual 1990-2005 (32 volumes), Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature (4 volumes) and Magill Book Reviews (6,800+). In addition, this database also includes Critical Surveys (35 volumes), Magill's Choice: Notable Poets (3 volumes), Magill's Choice: Shakespeare (1 volume), Magill's Choice: 100 Masters of Mystery and Detective Fiction (2 volumes) and World Philosophers and Their Works (3 volumes).
Biographies, bibliographies, and analysis of over 90,000 authors
The MLA International Bibliography enables users to find books and articles on languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics. Annually the MLA staff and other contributors index over 66,000 books and articles. Overall the database includes more than 1.85 million bibliographic citations from 1926 to the present. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Works on the teaching of language, literature, and rhetoric and composition at the college level are listed. Works solely on secondary school teaching are excluded unless they contain significant discussion of postsecondary teaching.
Complex social issues are presented in a pro-and-con format in Opposing Viewpoints in Context. This database includes: Nearly 7,000 viewpoint articles 41 complete titles from the Information Plus reference program More than 275 primary documents 300 biographies of social activists and reformers Nearly 5,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs Nearly 4,600 topic overviews that provide context for the issues More than 775 court-case overviews 334 profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups 2,000 links to reviewed and subject-indexed Web sites More than 1,300 images, all hand-selected to support the topics covered More than 135 full-text periodicals and newspapers Podcasts from the Weekly Presidential Radio Address
This unique resource covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. Play Index covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.
Provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories, this database is an essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, and for those researching the body of work of a particular literary figure.
SIRS Renaissance® - 'Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities' is a reference database providing current, dynamic information on Architecture & Design, Culture, Literature, Multimedia, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy & Religion and Visual Arts. Full-text articles are selected from over 700 domestic and international publications. Many articles are accompanied by full-color graphics, including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations. The database is searchable by subject heading, keyword, and topic browsing. Database Features: Editor's Top Pick: Articles and images are selected each week by the SIRS research team for their exceptional interest or research value. Select the article title to view the article or select the graphic thumbnail to view the full-sized graphic. Literary Corner - A guide to the curricular study of prominent authors in major literary periods and regions. Also includes The New Lifetime Reading Plan which features brief introductions to more than 130 literary classics and also provides biographical information on the creators of these works. Award Recipients - Lists major award winners in all eight arts and humanities categories. Glossary of the Arts - Includes key reference terms pertinent to the article database (i.e. terra cotta, film noir, Roman architecture). Glossary entries are placed in historic, thematic and aesthetic context. Notable People - Notable People features full-text articles that highlight prominent people in the arts and humanities. Recommended References - Suggests further readings in all eight categories, and includes an annotated biography. Spotlight of the Month - A sampling of articles are selected from the SIRS Renaissance database to encourage research and awareness of topical issues. Suggested Research Topics - A list of sample searches link to recently added content and hot topics to encourage research and further exploration into the topics covered by SIRS Renaissance. Can be cross-searched with the other SIRS databases.