Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WorldCat Discovery Search
Grove Music Online
Call Number: Oxford Reference
Grove Music Online offers the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world,
Oxford Companion to Music by
Publication Date: 2011
More than 8,000 articles sweep across an extraordinary range of subjects: composers, performers, conductors, individual works, instruments and notation, forms and genres. From the study of music — theory, aesthetics, scholarship — to the way it is performed and disseminated, the Companion provides comprehensive, accessible coverage of music in all its artistic, historical, cultural, and social dimensions.
The Oxford Dictionary of Music by
Publication Date: 2013-09-15
The Oxford Dictionary of Music brings together an unrivalled collection of entries — 12,500 in all — covering musical subjects of all kinds in an authoritative and accessible way. Included in this impressive work are entries on composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, instruments, works, venues, and a host of other topics.
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by
Publication Date: 2003-02-11
With over 7,000 articles on every aspect of the field, from jazz groups, composers and arrangers to instruments, terms, record labels and venues, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz is an essential tool for scholars, musicians and aficionados alike.
Chat Reference Help
Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm
Ask A Librarian
317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)
Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day
317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.
Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.