LibGuides: Theatre LibGuide: Getting Started

How To Use This LibGuide

This Getting Started page will help you do just that...get started with research on your topic. It can also guide you to personal assistance with contact information. Click on the above tabs for more specific research assistance.

Online Reference Books - A good place to start for basic information

Three of the library’s databases allow you to do keyword searches across a large selection of high quality reference works online, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and directories. These works help you find topic overviews, statistics, images, maps, and more. Because they have full text online, you can access these materials any time using any computer.

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 70 reference books on a variety of topics
Full-text of over 70 reference books on a broad variety of topics, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts and humanities, biography and genealogy, business and industries, general and consumer interests, government and political science, health and medicine, law, science and technology, and social sciences. These types of reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online 24/7. Users can search across the entire collection, limit the search by subject area, or just search an individual source. Available sources are listed in the Title List on the main page.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Reference Online Premium is an outstanding collection of 198 language and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias, cross-searchable and covering a full array of subjects from Art to Zoology. For additional information, please refer to the publisher’s website.

Google Scholar
This environmental scan was developed as part of a PALNI task force seeking to investigate the feasibility of Google Scholar as a complement and/or substitute to WorldCat Discovery / Local. The findings are the result of a 2017 literature review of Google Scholar and how it pertains to libraries.

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Search

&lt;p&gt;&lt;/p&gt;

Subject Guide

Lucy Fields

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Cataloging and Acquisitions Librarian

Krannert Memorial Library

317-788-6124

Subjects: Literature, Philosophy, Philosophy and Religion, Religion, Theatre