LibGuides: Theatre LibGuide: Books & Media

Browsing for Books on Theatre in KML

Books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal System. All of our books can be found in the Basement of the library, accessed either by the elevator or the main front stairwell.

Here are some suggested Dewey Decimal areas for browsing the library’s shelves for Theatre books:

391	Costume/Fashion(Examples, not Construction)
792	Theatre (Performance, all aspects)
808.8245	Monologues
812 and 822	Plays and criticism; 812 for American, 822 for British
822.33	Shakespeare

Ebooks

The following are collections of full text electronic books available to you through your library. For instructions or assistance viewing or downloading, click on the "help" box in each collection:

Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
-NEW!-
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is an online library offering access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholary list of Oxford University Press. OSO covers subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
EBook Central (formerly Ebrary) This link opens in a new window
Full text books on a variety of topics
Ebrary is a multidisciplinary collection of over 70,000 electronic books from a variety of top academic publishers. Content can be accessed and viewed from any computer/browser, and there is no limit on simultaneous users. Most of the books in Ebrary have been published since 2004, making this collection very up-to-date. New titles are added monthly. Subjects covered include: Anthropology, Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Engineering & Technology, Fine Arts, History, Political Science, Law, International Relations, Public Policy, Language, Literature, Linguistics, Life Sciences, Medicine, Humanities, Nursing & Allied Health, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology, Religion, Philosophy, and the Classics. Ebrary lets you highlight and annotate passages as well as save your annotated books to a personal "Bookshelf" for easy access later. You can organize your Bookshelf into folders, and you can share any of your folders with UIndy colleagues or students. You can copy the direct link to an individual e-book and paste into your syllabus, list of readings, or other documents. The books in Ebrary can be downloaded to your computer and mobile devices, so you can read them offline. There are two choices: Create an image PDF of a specific chapter or page range Same page limits as for printing - up to 60 pages Accessible on most computers and devices Additional (free) software is typically not needed No "check-out" period -- Files do not expire Download an entire document as an e-book in Adobe Digital Editions Up to 10 documents at a time per patron Before your first download, you will need to install Adobe Digital Editions (free online). To be able to use your downloaded book on more than one device, you will need to create an Adobe ID/password, which just takes a minute. Accessible on most computers and devices. Check-out period for downloaded e-book: 14 days Instructions for downloading are available on the Ebrary site at http://site.ebrary.com/lib/uindy/help.action (choose Document Downloading from the left-hand menu).
Ebsco eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text books on a variety of topics
This collection includes approximately 17,000 electronic books that may be read online using any computer. Although the books are not downloadable, you may print or e-mail up to 60 pages of most titles, so that you can read your selected material offline. Each book is accessible to one person at a time, for the length of his or her online session. (Sessions automatically time out after 30 minutes of inactivity, releasing the book for other users.) You may record electronic notes as you read your selection and save your notes in a personal EBSCO folder. You can search for appropriate books by keyword or by category, and each individual book can be searched by keyword.

Full text plays

In addition to the e-book databases in the box above, the following will link you to sites that contain full length plays:

ProPlay - the premiere site for online, professionally produced stage plays, which you can read right now, free of charge. In most cases, the playwright has chosen to have the entire script posted. In all cases, substantial portions of the play may be read now, for free.
Playscripts Inc. - Playscripts, Inc. brings new plays and musical to professional, school, community, and college theaters to perform, read and enjoy. You can find full length plays to read, and pricing if you choose to mount the production.
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare - the Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare. This site has offered Shakespeare's plays and poetry to the Internet community since 1993. The HTML versions of the plays provided are placed in the public domain. Hosted by MIT.
Project Gutenberg - offers over 54,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online. This link will take you to the Plays bookshelf, with full text of public domain plays.

Streaming Videos

Kanopy - A large streaming video site, view films in the cultural arts and film study, as well as popular films.

Films on Demand - View documentaries or film clips on a number of Theatre topics, including many full length productions of plays.

Search

&lt;p&gt;&lt;/p&gt;

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Theatre LibGuide: Books & Media

What are books good for?