Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Publishing issues
Promotional flyer for '4 new ways ACS is OPEN'.
DOAJ Survey ... Open Access Charges
Open access article processing charges: DOAJ survey May 2014 ... links to a preprint open for review
OA Guidance for Editors and Authors
A one-page guide intended to help you with your decision on authoring and/or edition an Open Access journal.
Peer Review Survey
"Should peer review detect fraud and misconduct? What does it do for science and what does the scientific community want it to do? Will it illuminate good ideas or shut them down? Should reviewers remain anonymous?"
Post Open Access Sting: An Interview With John Bohannon
"On October 4, 2013, Science Magazine published a piece of investigative journalism revealing the deceptive peer-review and business practices of 157 open access journal publishers (“Who’s Afraid of Peer Review?” Oct 4, 2013). Not surprisingly, the investigation resulted in a maelstrom of criticism and commentary from pundits, publishers and industry groups. Has anything changed as a result of the exposé? I recently interviewed Science reporter, John Bohannon, on his views:"
Publisher Policies - embargoes, etc.
Sherpa/Romeo provides access to publisher copyright policies & self-archiving
"SCOAP3 is a one-of-its-kind partnership of thousands of libraries and key funding agencies and research centers in two dozen countries. Working with leading publishers, SCOAP3 is converting key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access at no cost for authors. SCOAP3 is centrally paying publishers for the costs involved in providing Open Access, publishers in turn reduce subscription fees to their customers, who contribute to SCOAP3"
Transforming Peer Review Bibliography
"The Transforming Peer Review Bibliography includes selected English-language articles that are useful in understanding significant transformations to the peer review process."
What does 'Federally Funded' actually mean?
The NIH OA mandate applies to the following manuscripts:
Any direct funding from an NIH grant or coop agreement
Any direct funding from an NIH contract
Any direct funding from the NIH Intramural Program
Authored by an NIH employee
11 Excellent Sites for Free Digital Textbooks
Bookboon.com; Boundless; California Learning Resource Network (CLRN); College Open Textbook Collaborative; connexions; The Global Text Project; OpenStax; Open Education Group; Project Gutenberg; Saylor.org; University of Minnesota Open Academics;
ChemWiki: The Dynamic Chemistry Hypertext
"ChemWiki is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members ..."
Clean chemistry: techniques for the modern laboratory / Richter
A practical guide to clean sample preparation for trace metal analysis (2003)
Digital Public Library of America
New York Review of Books: http://www.nybooks.com/articles/archives/2013/apr/25/national-digital-public-library-launched/
Directory of Open Access Books
5/7/15: "2832 Academic peer-reviewed books from 102 publishers. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access ..."
Millions of downloadable pre-1923 books
Magnetic Resonance Online Texts
"...free online texts, theses, and course materials on the subjects of magnetic resonance (MR), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), nuclear-magnetic resonance (NMR) and other related topics."
Browse popular titles, covers, recommendations, recent additions with a genre filter, or reviews. More than 29,000 eBooks freely available for Kindle, Nook, iPad and most other eReaders.
Online Books Page
Over 1M free titles
PhysWiki: The Dynamic Physics Hypertext
"The PhysWiki is a collaborative approach toward physics education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members ..."
Project Gutenberg offers over 38,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
"XCITR [eXplore Chemical Information Teaching Resources] is a repository for exploring and sharing chemical information teaching resources."
Beall's List of Predatory Open-Access Publishers
"Predatory, open-access publishers ... exploit the author-pays model of open-access publishing (Gold OA). ... Operating essentially as vanity presses, these publishers typically have a low article acceptance threshold, with a false-front or non-existent peer review process ... add little value to scholarship, pay little attention to digital preservation, and operate using fly-by-night, unsustainable business models.
Beall's List: Criteria for Predatory Open-Access Publishers
Based on an analysis of publisher content, practices, and websites according to established ethical standards.
CERN: Where to publish
Provides listing of HEP journals and information on article charges.
Digital Commons Network
A foundation for free exchange of scholarly work, including journal articles, bok chapters, dissertations, working papers, etc.
Edanz Journal Selector
A journal finder that is currently free and offers an option to limit the search to only journals with Open Access options.
Elsevier Journal Finder
"Journal Finder uses smart search technology and field-of-research specific vocabularies to match your article to Elsevier journals." There is also an option to "Limit to journals with Open Access options".
EPJ Web of Conferences
EPJ Web of Conferences provides open-access proceedings from the whole spectrum of pure and applied physics.
Free Medical Journals
Ranked (Impact Factor) listings of journals with free access: Immediately, After 1-6 months, After 7-12 months, and Later ... and other filter options.
A digital archive maintained by the French National Library. Has late 19th and early 20th century science journals as full text PDFs.
Highjacked Journal List
"Updated List of Hijacked Journals and Fake Publishers by Dr. Mehrdad Jalalian"
"The Internet Archive ... is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form."
JANE: Journal/Author Name Estimator
Enter title or abstract keywords and get a list of appropriate (PubMed) journals which can be filtered on Open Access titles.
OA-publishers AND Print on demand in a grey zone
"There are Open Access publishers that operate in a grey zone and you should therefore think twice before you submit an article to such a publisher."
Contains 23M records of digital resources from more than 1.1K open-archive collections worldwide.
"Paperity - a multidisciplinary aggregator of Open Access journals and papers". Currently provides access to the full text of 171,228 papers.
QOAM = Quality Open Access Market
"Quality Open Access Market is primarily for authors who want to publish their article in open access in a high quality journal and for a reasonable price." Apparently are not aware of Beall's List?
ROAD, the Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
"ROAD provides a free access to the subset of ISSN bibliographic records identifying online scholarly resources available in Open Access: journals, conference proceedings and academic repositories. These records, created by the ISSN Network (88 ISSN National Centres worldwide + the ISSN International Centre), are enriched by information about the presence of the scholarly resources concerned in indexing and abstracting databases, registries and journals indicators sources."
ScienceOpen is a searchable database of Open Access content from a wide variety of publishers … that can also be browsed under various Discipline headings. Full text articles from Biomedicine fields, for example, are imported from the PubMed Central Open Access Data Subset starting from the year 2000, and arXiv papers in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics are included beginning with 2011.
Who's Afraid of Peer Review? Bohannon's List
Publisher Data page for the results of a 2013 study based on the submission of 304 fake research papers to open access journals. The papers were designed with such grave scientific flaws that they should have been rejected immediately by editors and peer reviewers.