Communication LibGuide: Getting Started

These databases can help you find topic overviews, statistics, images, maps, and more. Because they have full text online, you can access these materials any time using any computer.

• Gale Virtual Reference Library - Over 70 cross-searchable reference works
• Oxford Reference Online - Cross-searchable reference works from Oxford University Press, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions.

Reference books, such as encyclopedias, atlases, and directories, are useful for topic overviews, historical background, statistics, images, maps, and more. Here are some suggested Reference Book titles in Communication-related subject areas. Reference books are shelved with the circulating collection but cannot be taken out of the library.

• Literary Journalism: a Biographical Dictionary of Writers and Editors: REF 070.0922 A67L 1996
• Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications: REF 302.23 E53 2003
• The Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Radio: REF 384.54 M87 2004
• The Encyclopedia of American Radio: REF 791.4475 L33e 2000
• Encyclopedia of Television: REF 791.45 E43 2005
• The Encyclopedia of 20th Century American Television: REF 791.45 L33e 2003
• Dictionary of Television and Audiovisual Terminology: REF 791.45014 M67d 1998

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours.

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours.