Skip to main content

Economics & Finance: Getting Started

Online Reference Books

Two of the library’s databases allow you to do keyword searches across a large selection of high quality reference works online, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and directories. These works help you find topic overviews, statistics, images, maps, and more. Because they have full text online, you can access these materials any time using any computer.

Once you access the database, search on a keyword or phrase that corresponds to your topic. For example, if you are studying radio in World War II, you could enter radio World War II as your search.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Over 70 reference works

Oxford Reference Online Premium

Over 190 reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.

Reference Books

Reference books — such as encyclopedias, atlases, and directories — are useful for topic overviews, historical background, statistics, images, maps, and more. Here are some suggested Reference Book titles (located in the Reference area on the first floor):

Title

Location

Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources

REF 330.016 E53

Economies of the World

REF 330.9 E26

International Financial Statistics

REF 332.0212 I58

Value Line

REF 332.6305 V3

OECD Economic Surveys (for many specific countries)

REF 332.67309 O33

Business Statistics of the United States

REF 338.0021 B87

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios

REF 338.0973 I5

Hoover’s Handbook of Private Companies

REF 338.61 H66

Hoover’s Handbook of Emerging Companies

REF 338.7 H66

Masterlist of U.S. Companies

REF 338.7402573 H661

Indiana Manufacturer’s Directory

REF 338.767025772 I53

Indiana Business Directory

REF 338.767025772 I531

Doing Business In… (specific country)

REF 338.888 D65

China Business Guide

REF 382.0951 C45

Accounting Standards: Original Pronouncements

REF 657.0128 A23

Search

Chat Reference Help

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat is available Mon- Fri 12pm-4pm

Ask A Librarian

Text Us

317-494-7565 (Available: M-F 12pm to 4:00 pm)

Email Form

Library assistance via email, response typically within one business day

Call Us

317-788-2100 (Reference Librarian) Available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
317-788-3268 (General Assistance) Available during our regular hours: Click here

Visit Us

Reference consultation available Monday-Friday 8:00am to 6:00pm
General assistance available during our regular hours: Click here