It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Engineering LibGuide: Articles
A portal for engineering resources at the University of Indianapolis.
Ebrary is a multidisciplinary collection of over 70,000 electronic books from a variety of top academic publishers. Content can be accessed and viewed from any computer/browser, and there is no limit on simultaneous users. Most of the books in Ebrary have been published since 2004, making this collection very up-to-date. New titles are added monthly. Subjects covered include: Anthropology, Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Engineering & Technology, Fine Arts, History, Political Science, Law, International Relations, Public Policy, Language, Literature, Linguistics, Life Sciences, Medicine, Humanities, Nursing & Allied Health, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology, Religion, Philosophy, and the Classics. Ebrary lets you highlight and annotate passages as well as save your annotated books to a personal "Bookshelf" for easy access later. You can organize your Bookshelf into folders, and you can share any of your folders with UIndy colleagues or students. You can copy the direct link to an individual e-book and paste into your syllabus, list of readings, or other documents. The books in Ebrary can be downloaded to your computer and mobile devices, so you can read them offline. There are two choices: Create an image PDF of a specific chapter or page range Same page limits as for printing - up to 60 pages Accessible on most computers and devices Additional (free) software is typically not needed No "check-out" period -- Files do not expire Download an entire document as an e-book in Adobe Digital Editions Up to 10 documents at a time per patron Before your first download, you will need to install Adobe Digital Editions (free online). To be able to use your downloaded book on more than one device, you will need to create an Adobe ID/password, which just takes a minute. Accessible on most computers and devices. Check-out period for downloaded e-book: 14 days Instructions for downloading are available on the Ebrary site at http://site.ebrary.com/lib/uindy/help.action (choose Document Downloading from the left-hand menu).
This collection includes approximately 17,000 electronic books that may be read online using any computer. Although the books are not downloadable, you may print or e-mail up to 60 pages of most titles, so that you can read your selected material offline. Each book is accessible to one person at a time, for the length of his or her online session. (Sessions automatically time out after 30 minutes of inactivity, releasing the book for other users.) You may record electronic notes as you read your selection and save your notes in a personal EBSCO folder. You can search for appropriate books by keyword or by category, and each individual book can be searched by keyword.
Streaming video of films in all academic disciplines
Films On Demand delivers streaming educational video content from Films Media Group, one of the premier publishers of academic films. Features of Films On Demand: Faculty & students have 24/7 unlimited access to streaming video content, on or off campus View entire programs or pre-defined segments of your selection Create personal play lists to organize full-length videos and segments for a classroom presentation or to share with students URL links can be posted to your course management system Intuitive, easy-to-use interface lets you browse your digital video library by course area or search by keyword, subject, producer, or educational standards View content in either Windows Media or Flash format (including high resolution options for full-screen viewing and presentation) Our subscription includes over 7,000 titles in the Master Academic Collection, which covers: Humanities & Social Science Collection Business & Economics Collection Science & Mathematics Collection Health & Medicine Collection See a YouTube video overview of Films On Demand Product brochure Quick Start Guide (Note: The Films On Demand Quick Start Guide includes directions for logging into the database. This step does not apply to UIndy users. However, off-campus users will need to log into their UIndy account before they can access any of the library's databases, including Films On Demand.)
Full text of over 70 reference books on a variety of topics
Full-text of over 70 reference books on a broad variety of topics, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts and humanities, biography and genealogy, business and industries, general and consumer interests, government and political science, health and medicine, law, science and technology, and social sciences. These types of reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online 24/7. Users can search across the entire collection, limit the search by subject area, or just search an individual source. Available sources are listed in the Title List on the main page.
Krannert Memorial Library has a subscription to Kanopy, a streaming service that provides the platform to a host of educational video productions covering a wide range of subjects, from arts, humanities, health, business, education and more. "Unlicensed films may only be requested by faculty for required course viewing. Please check the other streaming services for alternatives before requesting a film."
Oxford Reference Online Premium is an outstanding collection of 198 language and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias, cross-searchable and covering a full array of subjects from Art to Zoology. For additional information, please refer to the publisher’s website.
SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides unlimited access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.