Besides being "super-great-things-to escape-inside-by-reading-them", books can help you with research. Some books contain criticisms and essays by multiple authors, much like journals contain articles. And once you've found a book that is relevant, check out the bibliography (usually in the back of the book or at the end of chapters) for citations the author used to write the book. These can lead you to more relevant sources, in books, and in journals. Browsing a general topic book can also help you narrow your topic to something more specific, or give you ideas for completely different topics or papers.
Ebrary is a multidisciplinary collection of over 70,000 electronic books from a variety of top academic publishers. Content can be accessed and viewed from any computer/browser, and there is no limit on simultaneous users. Most of the books in Ebrary have been published since 2004, making this collection very up-to-date. New titles are added monthly. Subjects covered include: Anthropology, Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Engineering & Technology, Fine Arts, History, Political Science, Law, International Relations, Public Policy, Language, Literature, Linguistics, Life Sciences, Medicine, Humanities, Nursing & Allied Health, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology, Religion, Philosophy, and the Classics. Ebrary lets you highlight and annotate passages as well as save your annotated books to a personal "Bookshelf" for easy access later. You can organize your Bookshelf into folders, and you can share any of your folders with UIndy colleagues or students. You can copy the direct link to an individual e-book and paste into your syllabus, list of readings, or other documents. The books in Ebrary can be downloaded to your computer and mobile devices, so you can read them offline. There are two choices: Create an image PDF of a specific chapter or page range Same page limits as for printing - up to 60 pages Accessible on most computers and devices Additional (free) software is typically not needed No "check-out" period -- Files do not expire Download an entire document as an e-book in Adobe Digital Editions Up to 10 documents at a time per patron Before your first download, you will need to install Adobe Digital Editions (free online). To be able to use your downloaded book on more than one device, you will need to create an Adobe ID/password, which just takes a minute. Accessible on most computers and devices. Check-out period for downloaded e-book: 14 days Instructions for downloading are available on the Ebrary site at http://site.ebrary.com/lib/uindy/help.action (choose Document Downloading from the left-hand menu).
This collection includes approximately 17,000 electronic books that may be read online using any computer. Although the books are not downloadable, you may print or e-mail up to 60 pages of most titles, so that you can read your selected material offline. Each book is accessible to one person at a time, for the length of his or her online session. (Sessions automatically time out after 30 minutes of inactivity, releasing the book for other users.) You may record electronic notes as you read your selection and save your notes in a personal EBSCO folder. You can search for appropriate books by keyword or by category, and each individual book can be searched by keyword.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines in the humanities, arts, sciences, business, and social sciences.
Full text of over 70 reference books on a variety of topics
Full-text of over 70 reference books on a broad variety of topics, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources. Subjects covered include arts and humanities, biography and genealogy, business and industries, general and consumer interests, government and political science, health and medicine, law, science and technology, and social sciences. These types of reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online 24/7. Users can search across the entire collection, limit the search by subject area, or just search an individual source. Available sources are listed in the Title List on the main page.
Oxford Reference Online Premium is an outstanding collection of 198 language and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including Oxford Companions, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias, cross-searchable and covering a full array of subjects from Art to Zoology. For additional information, please refer to the publisher’s website.
Designed so that each entry in the field of Philosophy is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. Maintained by Stanford University.
This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.
Browsing for Books on Religion and Philosophy in KML
Books are shelved according to the Dewey Decimal System. All of our books can be found in the Basement of the library, accessed either by the elevator or the main front stairwell.
Here are some suggested Dewey Decimal areas for browsingthe library’s shelves for books on Religon/Philosophy:
(from Wikipedia)
200 Religion
200 Religion
201 Religious mythology, general classes of religion, interreligious relations and attitudes, social theology
202 Doctrines
203 Public worship and other practices
204 Religious experience, life, practice
205 Religious ethics
206 Leaders and organization
207 Missions and religious education
208 Sources
209 Sects and reform movements
210 Philosophy & theory of religion
210 Philosophy & theory of religion
211 Concepts of God
212 Existence, ways of knowing God, attributes of God
213 Creation
214 Theodicy
215 Science & religion
216 No longer used—formerly Evil
217 No longer used—formerly Prayer
218 Humankind
219 No longer used—formerly Analogies
220 The Bible
220 Bible
221 Old Testament (Tanakh)
222 Historical books of Old Testament
223 Poetic books of Old Testament
224 Prophetic books of Old Testament
225 New Testament
226 Gospels & Acts
227 Epistles
228 Revelation (Apocalypse)
229 Apocrypha, pseudepigrapha, & intertestamental works
230 Christianity
230 Christianity
231 God
232 Jesus Christ & his family
233 Humankind
234 Salvation & grace
235 Spiritual beings
236 Eschatology
237 No longer used—formerly Future state
238 Creeds, confessions of faith, covenants, & catechisms
239 Apologetics & polemics
240 Christian practice & observance
240 Christian moral and devotional theology
241 Christian ethics
242 Devotional literature
243 Evangelistic writings for individuals and families
244 No longer used—formerly Religious fiction
245 No longer used—formerly Hymnology
246 Use of art in Christianity
247 Church furnishings & related articles
248 Christian experience, practice, life
249 Christian observances in family life
250 Christian pastoral practice & religious orders
250 Local Christian church and Christian religious orders
251 Preaching (Homiletics)
252 Texts of sermons
253 Pastoral office and work (Pastoral theology)
254 Parish administration
255 Religious congregations & orders
256 No longer used—formerly Religious societies
257 No longer used—formerly Parochial schools, libraries, etc.
258 No longer used—formerly Parochial medicine
259 Pastoral care of families, of specific groups of people
260 Christian organization, social work, & worship
260 Christian social and ecclesiastical theology
261 Social theology and interreligious relations and attitudes
262 Ecclesiology
263 Days, times, places of religious observance
264 Public worship
265 Sacraments, other rites & acts
266 Missions
267 Associations for religious work
268 Religious education
269 Spiritual renewal
270 History of Christianity
270 History, geographic treatment, biography of Christianity
271 Religious congregations and orders in church history
272 Persecutions in church history
273 Doctrinal controversies and heresies in general church history
