Academic Video Online (AVON) provides unlimited remote access to more than 63,000* (and growing) videos all cross-searchable from a single platform.
The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films, Academy,® Emmy,® and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
The embeddable video player with keyword-searchable transcripts allows users to browse and refine with intuitive facets and then create and share custom clips and playlists.
Streaming video of films in all academic disciplines
Films On Demand delivers streaming educational video content from Films Media Group, one of the premier publishers of academic films. Features of Films On Demand: Faculty & students have 24/7 unlimited access to streaming video content, on or off campus View entire programs or pre-defined segments of your selection Create personal play lists to organize full-length videos and segments for a classroom presentation or to share with students URL links can be posted to your course management system Intuitive, easy-to-use interface lets you browse your digital video library by course area or search by keyword, subject, producer, or educational standards View content in either Windows Media or Flash format (including high resolution options for full-screen viewing and presentation) Our subscription includes over 7,000 titles in the Master Academic Collection, which covers: Humanities & Social Science Collection Business & Economics Collection Science & Mathematics Collection Health & Medicine Collection See a YouTube video overview of Films On Demand Product brochure Quick Start Guide (Note: The Films On Demand Quick Start Guide includes directions for logging into the database. This step does not apply to UIndy users. However, off-campus users will need to log into their UIndy account before they can access any of the library's databases, including Films On Demand.)
Useful Websites
Yes, Google is a good place to start when you have no idea how to begin your paper. Keep in mind, sites that end in .com, .edu. and .gov are your best resources for university level study. Sometimes, depending on the topic, .org is also acceptable. Always look into the Website's credentials to make sure the information you are getting is accurate and truthful. Ask your professor before using Internet sources to make sure they are acceptable. Below are some other sites to help you get started.
Also, managed by Calvin College in Grand Rapids, MI, "The mission of the Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL) is to build up the church by making classic Christian literature widely available and promoting its use for edification and study by interested Christians, seekers and scholars. The CCEL accomplishes this by selecting, collecting, distributing, and promoting valuable literature through the World Wide Web and other media."
Managed by a retired professor from the University of San Diego: " Ethics Updates seeks to provide a wide array of resources for the thoughtful and informed discussion of difficult moral issues. I originally began the site in 1994 as a way of keeping the bibliography of my ethical theory book up to date--hence the name, Ethics Updates. Several years later it was expanded to accommodate my moral issues book as well, and it continued to expand in subsequent years as both books have gone through multiple editions. The Website is updated several times a week, and there is already a vast amount of material on it."
