Social sciences, humanities, education, general science
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
This database indexes journals relating to the study of communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. It provides cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 420 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles. Full text is provided for more than 300 of the journals indexed. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). A sophisticated Communication Thesaurus helps the user find standardized vocabulary for constructing searches that are more complete and better focused. The database also allows comprehensive reference browsing, with searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as "core." In addition, Communication & Mass Media Complete features over 3,000 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. To further develop and enhance this database, EBSCO has established two working groups of expert advisors represented by leading librarians, bibliographers, and professionals in the areas of communication and mass media.
The ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field as well as bibliographic records and audio materials. It covers fields related to human communication studies, including mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, communication and new media, journalism, communication history, etc. Links to full text of articles are supplied for journals from participating communication societies. For details on titles indexed and abstracted, please refer to http://www.cios.org/www/aboutcomabstracts.htm.
