Full text for over 100 journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study
Designed for doctors, research scientists, students, and clinical specialists, this medical database provides over 100 full text journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed publications. Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition offers journals which cover virtually every area of medical study. Topics include: clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences. Examples of publications offered in Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition include: American Surgeon, American Journal of Public Health, British Journal of Surgery, CMAJ: Canadian Medical Association Journal, Annals of Human Biology, European Journal of Nuclear Medicine, etc. All full text journals contained in this database are also indexed in MEDLINE. Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within MEDLINE. When the MEDLINE database is accessed via EBSCOhost, users may have the ability to link to full text for articles contained within the Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition database. The majority of full text titles are available in searchable PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
CINAHL® Plus with Full Text indexes 3,265 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, including topics in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,230 journals are also included. Full text material includes more than 620 journals and 218 books/monographs. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and is collection of records that provide basic bibliographic information before they are indexed with CINAHL Headings. As Pre-CINAHL journal articles are indexed, the records are replaced with complete CINAHL records.
Health Business FullTEXT provides full text coverage for nearly 130 well-known health administration journals including H&HN: Hospitals & Health Networks, Health Management Technology, Modern Healthcare, and many others. Critical for hospital administrators and managers, this database includes publications covering the business of health care administration, and much more. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); Leixi-PALS Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information and research in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic covers top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; foreign language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research. Most of the titles on LEXIS-NEXIS Academic are available in full text, with a limited number available in abstract form. Some examples of information you can find in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic: Profiles and reports on the world's major public and private companies. Full-text of EDGAR filings from 1991 as well as annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements of more than 4,000 US companies, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission since 1987. Full-text English-language news from the world's major newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Non-English major newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. News wires TV and radio broadcast transcripts Web Blogs
Medical research, through the National Library of Medicine
PubMed comprises over 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions (medications, surgery, education, etc) in specific circumstances. In addition to Cochrane reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic review abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials – all the current evidence in one single environment. The Cochrane Library Databases include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR; Cochrane Reviews) Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE; Other Reviews) Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL; Clinical Trials) Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR; Methods Studies) Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA; Technology Assessments) NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED; Economic Evaluations)
Research-related and evidence-based practice submissions such as study abstracts, conference abstracts, dissertations, pre-print/post-print articles, reports, presentation papers/slides, and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. An online, searchable version of Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary is also included.
Demonstations of medical conditions and therapeutic interventions in occupational and physical therapy.
Designed for occupational and physical therapists, this database from International Clinical Educators, Inc. (ICE) offers over 100 short video clips illustrating various medical conditions and therapeutic interventions featuring real-life patients. Videos can be searched by subject or by patient, making the collection useful for demonstration, discussion, and case studies. Access to this database is limited to students and faculty in the UIndy College of Health Sciences. Please contact the School of Occupational Therapy to obtain an access "key" and directions for logging into this database.
Physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, and many more health and sport related topics
SPORTDiscus with Full Text covers all areas of sports & sports medicine literature, with full text for more than 415 of the journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985.
