Psychology

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA’s Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology as well as specialized, applied, clinical, and theoretical research. The database contains more than 122,000 articles from 60 journals - 49 published by the APA and its imprint, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF) - and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA’s Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

PsycEXTRA, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. The document types included in PsycEXTRA consist of technical, annual, and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures, and more. This database complements PsycINFO and the other APA databases with extensive coverage of gray literature relating to psychology and the behavioral sciences; it contains more than 100,000 records. PsycEXTRA is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA’s Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

The PEP Archive covers peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from the field of psychoanalysis. Produced by Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing, Inc, the database offers the full text of 20 principal psychoanalytic journals and more than 40 classic psychoanalytic books dating as far back as 1920. The materials in PEP Archive originally encompassed more than 400 volumes and a total of 250,000 printed pages. Points of interest include the full text of Freud's correspondence with his chief collaborators (such as Abraham, Fleiss, Jones, and Jung) and all major works by Bion, Klein, and Winnicot. Contributions by Anzieu, Fairbairn, Laplanche and Pontalis, Rosenfeld, Spence, and Stern are also represented. In all, the database includes more than 50,000 articles, book chapters, book reviews, letters and commentaries, and 4,000 figures and illustrations. Besides psychology and psychiatry, students and professionals researching anthropology, linguistics, nursing, physiology, neurosciences, and women’s studies will find materials of interest in the PEP Archive. PEP Archive is co-owned by the American Psychoanalytic Association and the British Institute of Psychoanalysis.

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. An online, searchable version of Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary is also included.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information and research in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,870 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,060 journals, and includes full text for more than 133 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.