SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. The database features more than 1,918,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 428 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 163 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 735 books and monographs, and full text for 6,785 conference papers. The database also contains informative abstracts for more than 845 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 670 "priority" coverage journals as well as from 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Each author profile includes biographical data and bibliographic information, which together allow users to quickly ascertain an author's areas of expertise and academic/professional focus. All author profiles are updated on a routine basis as new information about each author becomes available. Moreover, profiles continue to be added for additional authors within the database on an ongoing basis.
Social sciences, humanities, education, general science
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.
Social, scientific, historic, business, and political issues
SIRS Researcher® is a general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from 1,600 domestic and international publications and are indexed primarily according to Library of Congress subject headings. The database is searchable by subject heading, keyword, and topic browsing. Database Features: Leading Issues - Nearly 100 of the most commonly accessed social issues, updated daily. Overviews and pro/con viewpoints are included. Focus on Terrorism - Covers every aspect of the current crisis, providing a global perspective on the terrorism issue affecting the United States. Today's News - The top national and global headline news stories are dynamically updated to bring you up to the minute breaking news. Maps of the World - Over 500 detailed, colorful maps are available as an online reference almanac. World Almanac® Excerpts - Articles about world history, profiles of all the nations of the world, and other important facts. Spotlight of the Month - Articles selected as a sampling from the SIRS Researcher database to encourage research and awareness of the topical issues. Challenge Quest plus Suggested Research Topics - A list of sample searches link to recently added content and hot topics to encourage research and further exploration into the topics covered by SIRS Researcher. Can be cross-searched with the other SIRS databases.
