Author: Michael Bakich
Source: Discover Mar/Apr2024
This article provides a historical overview of solar eclipses throughout human history. It highlights several notable eclipses, including the earliest recorded eclipse in ancient China, a solar eclipse that potentially ended a war between the Lydians and the Medes, and an eclipse that affected the outcome of a conflict between the Spartans and the Persians. Additionally, it discusses the first descriptions of solar features, such as the corona and prominences, during eclipses.
Author: James R Roirdon
Source: Science News March 2024
The total solar eclipse crossing North America on April 8, 2024, will be longer, darker, and more active than the previous eclipse in 2017. The eclipse will last for nearly 4½ minutes, and the sun will be close to solar maximum, resulting in bright streamers of plasma extending from the sun's outer atmosphere. This eclipse presents a rare opportunity for both casual observers and scientists, with millions of people able to witness the event.
Author: Diana Hannikainen
Source: Sky and Telescope March 2024
The article discusses the Eclipse Megamovie 2024 project, which aims to record the Sun's corona during the total solar eclipse in April. The project involves citizen scientists taking photos of the eclipse using regular cameras and acquiring calibration frames for accurate alignment of the images. The collected data will be analyzed by the team, along with NASA data, to extract scientific information and make it publicly available. Interested individuals can participate in the project by visiting the project's webpage and joining the Discord server. Volunteers are also needed to help sift through the data after the event.
Author: Phil Harrington
Source: Astronomy February 2024
This article provides instructions for creating a homemade solar viewer called the Safe Solar Viewer (SSV) that can be used to safely view solar eclipses. The SSV is a simple and low-cost alternative to telescopes or binoculars with solar filters. The article describes two versions of the SSV: the Simple SSV, which uses a lens from a pair of reading glasses and a cardboard box, and the Advanced SSV, which uses two lenses and can be made from plywood. The article includes detailed instructions for constructing both versions of the SSV and emphasizes the importance of safety when viewing the Sun.
Author: Katie Peek
Source: Scientific American March 2024
On April 8, a total solar eclipse will occur, with the moon completely covering the sun's face. This alignment will only be visible within a narrow band called the path of totality, which will arc across North America. Over 40 million people live within this path, and millions more are within a few hours' drive. However, the visibility of the eclipse may be affected by spring weather, particularly in the northeastern US and maritime Canada. Eclipse chasers recommend staying mobile and keeping an eye on the weather to fully experience this spectacle.
Author: Bob King
Source: Sky and Telescope April 2024
On April 8th, 2024, a total solar eclipse will occur, visible to millions of people across Mexico, 15 US states, and the Canadian Maritime provinces. It will last about 2 ½ hours, with the best viewing conditions in Mexico and Texas. It is important to use approved solar filters to safely view the partial phases of the eclipse. The text also mentions an upcoming occultation of Venus on the Moon's dark limb, visible at 1:28 p.m., and provides a website for more details. The text highlights what to expect during an eclipse, including spotting Venus and Jupiter, feeling a drop in temperature, observing the thinning of the Sun, and witnessing phenomena like shadow bands and Baily's beads. Additional resources and a table of Jupiter's moon phenomena for April 2024 are also provided.
Author: Alan MacRobert
Source: Sky and Telescope April 2024
This article from Sky & Telescope titled "Why Do Solar Eclipses Happen?" explains the phenomenon of solar eclipses. It describes how a solar eclipse occurs when the Moon passes between the Earth and the Sun, blocking part or all of the Sun from view. The article discusses the historical significance of eclipses and the scientific understanding behind them. It also provides information on the upcoming solar eclipse on April 8th, 2024, and offers safety tips for viewing the eclipse.
Author: Nancy Shute
Source: Science News March 2024
On April 8, there will be a solar eclipse visible to millions of people across North America. This eclipse will last for almost 4.5 minutes, making it longer than the previous eclipse in 2017. Scientists are excited about this eclipse because it provides an opportunity to study the sun's radiation and its effects on Earth's ionosphere and solar winds. The eclipse is also a popular event for eclipse tourism, with many people planning to travel to see the full show. Additionally, this article mentions other topics such as the difficulties in opening a sample canister from an asteroid and the role of ancient viruses in the development of human brains.
Author: Molly Wakeling
Source: Astronomy February 2024
The article provides information on how to safely observe the April 2024 total solar eclipse and view the Sun throughout the year. It emphasizes the importance of using proper solar glasses and filters that meet safety standards to protect the eyes from harmful ultraviolet and infrared light. For those using binoculars or telescopes, a solar filter that covers the objective is essential. The article also suggests alternative methods such as telescope solar projection and pinhole projection for viewing the partial phases of an eclipse. Safety precautions, such as supervising telescope use and ensuring the secure attachment of filters, are highlighted throughout the article.