Current Issues

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

SIRS Researcher® is a general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from 1,600 domestic and international publications and are indexed primarily according to Library of Congress subject headings. The database is searchable by subject heading, keyword, and topic browsing. Database Features: Leading Issues - Nearly 100 of the most commonly accessed social issues, updated daily. Overviews and pro/con viewpoints are included. Focus on Terrorism - Covers every aspect of the current crisis, providing a global perspective on the terrorism issue affecting the United States. Today's News - The top national and global headline news stories are dynamically updated to bring you up to the minute breaking news. Maps of the World - Over 500 detailed, colorful maps are available as an online reference almanac. World Almanac® Excerpts - Articles about world history, profiles of all the nations of the world, and other important facts. Spotlight of the Month - Articles selected as a sampling from the SIRS Researcher database to encourage research and awareness of the topical issues. Challenge Quest plus Suggested Research Topics - A list of sample searches link to recently added content and hot topics to encourage research and further exploration into the topics covered by SIRS Researcher. Can be cross-searched with the other SIRS databases.

Complex social issues are presented in a pro-and-con format in Opposing Viewpoints in Context. This database includes: Nearly 7,000 viewpoint articles 41 complete titles from the Information Plus reference program More than 275 primary documents 300 biographies of social activists and reformers Nearly 5,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs Nearly 4,600 topic overviews that provide context for the issues More than 775 court-case overviews 334 profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups 2,000 links to reviewed and subject-indexed Web sites More than 1,300 images, all hand-selected to support the topics covered More than 135 full-text periodicals and newspapers Podcasts from the Weekly Presidential Radio Address