Gerontology & Aging

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and nearly 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. Academic Search Complete offers critical information from many sources unique to this massive collection. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 journals.

CINAHL® Plus with Full Text indexes 3,265 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with coverage dating as far back as 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, including topics in nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,230 journals are also included. Full text material includes more than 620 journals and 218 books/monographs. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and is collection of records that provide basic bibliographic information before they are indexed with CINAHL Headings. As Pre-CINAHL journal articles are indexed, the records are replaced with complete CINAHL records.

Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Additionally, Health Source: Consumer Edition contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); Leixi-PALS Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information and research in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings, and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Included are citations from Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, Index to Dental Literature, HISTLINE, SPACELINE, PREMEDLINE, AIDSLINE, BIOETHICSLINE, and HealthSTAR.

PsycBOOKS, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of more than 21,000 chapters in PDF from over 1,400 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers. It also includes more than 700 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from 1806, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology. PsycBOOKS is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA’s Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. Journal coverage, which spans 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,100 periodicals in more than 25 languages. Examples of titles offered in PsycINFO include: Academic Medicine, Academic Psychiatry, Behavior Genetics, Behavioral Disorders, Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology, Journal of Applied Social Psychology, Journal of Behavioral Medicine, Journal of Psychiatry & Neuroscience, Journal of Psychology, Psychoanalytic Psychology, Psychological Assessment, Psychological Medicine, etc. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA’s Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology as well as specialized, applied, clinical, and theoretical research. The database contains more than 122,000 articles from 60 journals - 49 published by the APA and its imprint, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF) - and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA’s Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

SIRS Researcher® is a general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from 1,600 domestic and international publications and are indexed primarily according to Library of Congress subject headings. The database is searchable by subject heading, keyword, and topic browsing. Database Features: Leading Issues - Nearly 100 of the most commonly accessed social issues, updated daily. Overviews and pro/con viewpoints are included. Focus on Terrorism - Covers every aspect of the current crisis, providing a global perspective on the terrorism issue affecting the United States. Today's News - The top national and global headline news stories are dynamically updated to bring you up to the minute breaking news. Maps of the World - Over 500 detailed, colorful maps are available as an online reference almanac. World Almanac® Excerpts - Articles about world history, profiles of all the nations of the world, and other important facts. Spotlight of the Month - Articles selected as a sampling from the SIRS Researcher database to encourage research and awareness of the topical issues. Challenge Quest plus Suggested Research Topics - A list of sample searches link to recently added content and hot topics to encourage research and further exploration into the topics covered by SIRS Researcher. Can be cross-searched with the other SIRS databases.

SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others. The database features more than 1,918,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 428 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 163 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 735 books and monographs, and full text for 6,785 conference papers. The database also contains informative abstracts for more than 845 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 670 "priority" coverage journals as well as from 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. Further, extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Each author profile includes biographical data and bibliographic information, which together allow users to quickly ascertain an author's areas of expertise and academic/professional focus. All author profiles are updated on a routine basis as new information about each author becomes available. Moreover, profiles continue to be added for additional authors within the database on an ongoing basis.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic covers top news, general news topics, and news transcripts; foreign language news sources; company, industry, and market news; legal news; company financial information; general medical and health topics and medical abstracts; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; federal case law; U.S. Code; and state legal research. Most of the titles on LEXIS-NEXIS Academic are available in full text, with a limited number available in abstract form. Some examples of information you can find in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic: Profiles and reports on the world's major public and private companies. Full-text of EDGAR filings from 1991 as well as annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements of more than 4,000 US companies, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission since 1987. Full-text English-language news from the world's major newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Non-English major newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. News wires TV and radio broadcast transcripts Web Blogs