LibGuides: New Faculty Library Information: Using Streaming Videos in Your Course

Streaming Videos

The library subscribes to multiple streaming video services. These can be embedded into your Brightspace page, or links can be shared directly.

If students are unable to access a video from off-campus, try adding https://ezproxy.uindy.edu/login?url= before the HTTP on the permalink.

Example:
https://ezproxy.uindy.edu/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=103035&xtid=274815

To link to AVON:

Navigate to the desired video, then click on "Share". Copy the permalink from the pop up box.

Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of films in all academic disciplines
Films On Demand delivers streaming educational video content from Films Media Group, one of the premier publishers of academic films. Features of Films On Demand: Faculty & students have 24/7 unlimited access to streaming video content, on or off campus View entire programs or pre-defined segments of your selection Create personal play lists to organize full-length videos and segments for a classroom presentation or to share with students URL links can be posted to your course management system Intuitive, easy-to-use interface lets you browse your digital video library by course area or search by keyword, subject, producer, or educational standards View content in either Windows Media or Flash format (including high resolution options for full-screen viewing and presentation) Our subscription includes over 7,000 titles in the Master Academic Collection, which covers: Humanities & Social Science Collection Business & Economics Collection Science & Mathematics Collection Health & Medicine Collection See a YouTube video overview of Films On Demand Product brochure Quick Start Guide (Note: The Films On Demand Quick Start Guide includes directions for logging into the database. This step does not apply to UIndy users. However, off-campus users will need to log into their UIndy account before they can access any of the library's databases, including Films On Demand.)

To link to Films on Demand:

Navigate to the video or segment. Click on "Share" below the video box, then click on "Embed/Link" from the pop up box. Copy the URL.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Krannert Memorial Library has a subscription to Kanopy, a streaming service that provides the platform to a host of educational video productions covering a wide range of subjects, from arts, humanities, health, business, education and more. "Unlicensed films may only be requested by faculty for required course viewing. Please check the other streaming services for alternatives before requesting a film."

Kanopy films are limited and may only be requested for required course viewing.

Individual films are licensed by the library.
Films that have already been licensed are available to all users.
Faculty may request access to unlicensed films if they are required for their course (we cannot accept requests for supplemental or optional films).
Before placing a request, please look for alternative options in the other streaming services. Kanopy should only be requested if no suitable alternative exists. Librarians can assist in locating alternative content if needed.

To get access to a film that is not yet licensed:

Search for the film in Kanopy
Fill out the request form to add the film to the collection
The library will process the request within 2 business days and inform the requester when the film is available to be viewed

To link to Kanopy:

Navigate to the video title page. Click on "Share" and copy the URL.

ICE Video Library This link opens in a new window
Demonstations of medical conditions and therapeutic interventions in occupational and physical therapy.
Designed for occupational and physical therapists, this database from International Clinical Educators, Inc. (ICE) offers over 100 short video clips illustrating various medical conditions and therapeutic interventions featuring real-life patients. Videos can be searched by subject or by patient, making the collection useful for demonstration, discussion, and case studies. Access to this database is limited to students and faculty in the UIndy College of Health Sciences. Please contact the School of Occupational Therapy to obtain an access "key" and directions for logging into this database.